smile

The more you grow my smile

with yours,

the wider you stretch the wound

that will leave a scar,

the day you stop being here,

smiling –

– making me smile.

 

I’ll have to learn how once more,

to mean it

 after a long procession of empty curves

when everyone asks

if I’m okay

not seeing my smile,

for you are not here to shape it.

 

But I promise,

always you will see me smile

since you will only ever not

when you are here no longer

to see me stung,

that scar forever there,

in place of you.

 

Share your thoughts

